City Commissioners Take Oath of Office; Mayor and Vice Mayor Elected

At tonight’s City Commission meeting, newly elected commissioners, William Joseph and Olivia Cyman were given the oath of office by Interim City Clerk Chris Saladine. Immediately following, William Joseph was elected mayor and Amy Perschbacher was elected vice mayor.

2021 City Commission:

Mary Alsagar, Commissioner         

Olivia Cyman, Commissioner         

Lori Gillis, Commissioner               

William Joseph, Mayor                 

Amy Perschbacher, Vice Mayor     

George Ronan, Commissioner       

Petro Tolas, Commissioner            

City Commission meetings take place at 7 p.m. on the 2nd and 4th Monday’s of the month.

Due to COVID-19, City Commission meetings will take place as scheduled, but they will be electronically conducted meetings as allowed by Public Act 254 of 2020, allowing public bodies to meet remotely. City Commission Chambers will be closed to the public.

Citizens can watch the City Commission meeting live on Spectrum Charter Channel 188, web streamed at or via Zoom.  What ‘topics to watch’ and Zoom sign-in information will be posted on the City of Mt. Pleasant Facebook Page, Twitter feed and blog ( the Friday before the City Commission meeting.