Fourth annual Citizens’ Academy wraps up

Participants of the fourth annual Citizens’ Academy of Mt. Pleasant were celebrated for their completion of the program at the April 22 City Commission meeting.

Designed to engage members of the community to expand their knowledge of the structure and functions of local government, community members attended seven sessions throughout February, March and April which explored the City’s day-to-day operations.

For more information about the Citizens’ Academy, visit  To receive email notifications regarding future academies, contact City Planner, Jacob Kain at (989) 779-5346 or

Congratulations to the 2019 Citizens’ Academy participants:

Joshua Adams

Melanie Duke

Maureen Eke

Jerell Erves

Joe Fleming

Erick Fredendall

Gregory Hanley

Yannis Haveles

Erica Hopcraft

Azharul Islam

Blaine Long

Jim McBryde

Matt Mertz

Brian Mitchell

Amy Motz

Christy Onstott

Darcy Orlik

Amy Perschbacher

Allan Riggs

Martha Riggs

George Ronan

Melinda Stacer